Sense & Sensibility by Jane Austen – Goodreads Book Review

Sense and SensibilitySense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

This gets an extra star just because it’s Austen, and I can’t bring myself to rate Jane Austen lower than that. This is the only major Austen work I’ve never managed to finish, until now. What a labour, almost a waste of effort, except at least I know better than to ever pick this book up again. I’ll just re-read Pride & Prejudice or Persuasion for the nth time instead. What a pair of insipid limp rags Elinor and Marianne are. Even Fanny Price is Nicki Minaj combined with Sharon Horgan, compared to Elinor. (I quite like Mansfield Park although obviously Fanny should have run off with Henry Crawford instead of mooning around over Edmund. Fanny is all right, she’s a bright spark, underrated.)

You may deduce from the above that I didn’t care for it much, but it’s still Austen. She’s still a genius, but no-one could convince me this qualifies as essential reading. Forget it, try George Eliot or a Bronte instead.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Sense & Sensibility by Jane Austen – Goodreads Book Review

  1. I’ve only read this story one time, and it’s been so long ago I’ve forgotten the details. Meanwhile, I’ve read Pride and Prejudice dozens of times, so apparently we’re in agreement. Not sure what score I’d give it. It’s been too long.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

