prescription strength of love

31345417586_e8c39f8242_o

“Your prescription now is stronger,”

My optician says to me

He only means to give the dimming

Fuzzy world a clarity

You, I’ve not explained to him yet

He has not asked that I do

Only wants to know my headaches

An alphabet recital too

Think you I’ll love you less dearly

If I see you sharp and clear

If I see your flaws my dear one

Once I excused myopically

It’s not the case, although it should be

I love you not for fuzzy glow

For radiant halos stemming only

From faulty curve of lens, I know

I love you for your faults, you bastard

And when I see them close and sharp

I’ll pull the hornrims off my nose, dear

Vowed haloed angel, sans specs, mit harp.

© 2015 Alex Ankarr.

 

Image – Zuukuo Wuu public domain.

Leave a Reply

